State of Texas laws requires Meningitis (MCV4) Vaccination 10 days prior to arrival on campus for all new and transfer students. Failure to provide documentation of the vaccine upon arrival can exclude you from moving in and participation in classes/athletics/activities.
Required immunizations included on your health forms are:
- Meningococcal (MCV4) vaccine within the past five years if under 22 years of age
- Tdap within last 10 years
- Record of two doses of MMR
- Record of last booster of Polio
- Record of Varicella vaccine (two doses) or date of disease
- TB skin test or chest x-ray within last year (BCG is not acceptable)
- Record of two doses of Hepatitis A
- Record of three doses of Hepatitis B
Recommended immunizations include:
- Meningitis B (MenB)
- Human Papilloma virus series of three shots
It is best to get your immunizations at your family physician’s office and send health records by the July 1 deadline.
Conscientious Objection form for students LIVING IN ON-CAMPUS HOUSING
New students and transfer students must use the official Texas Department of State Health Services (DSHS) form. The DSHS form may be ordered electronically. It is then mailed from DSHS to the student and it may take up to two weeks to receive the form. The DSHS form must be completed, notarized, and provided to the designated school official at the institution the student will be attending. It is the student’s responsibility to complete the DSHS form and have it notarized. See information about requesting the DSHS affidavit form.
Call 903.813.2247 or email Health Services if you have any questions.
Seasonal Flu Shots
No appointment necessary!
Student Seasonal Flu Shots will be held during the fall semester — dates and times to be announced.
The cost is $30, and will be billed to the student’s account. Students with AHP student insurance are covered.
Faculty & Staff Seasonal Flu Shots will be held during the fall semester — dates and times to be announced.
Faculty and staff who have insurance provided by Austin College may bring their insurance card and Human Resources will file for employee. Those without Austin College insurance can pay $30 by cash or check.